Ferociously Observant

It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not. -Anon.

And then there was one… 20 July 2007

Filed under: Ponderings,Randoms — ferociouskater @ 5:40 pm

…and after tonight there will be none. No more Harry Potter. Sure, we’ll get to see what the movies are like for the next couple of years. But no more books. I was driving to work today and heard a news report on the various parties that will be occurring tonight (one of which I am attending and yes, I will be dressed up). I actually got teary-eyed. I hate goodbyes.

I remember it was the same way with Friends. I was a huge Friends fan in the beginning, and then at the very end, and of course I would watch all the reruns in between. I watched the final episode and remember bawling. What were we going to do without Ross’ pathetic attempts to do anything, Joey’s acting, Chandler’s humor, Monica’s OCD, Rachel’s quirk and Phoebe’s ditz? There was a little part inside of me that felt very, very empty for months afterwards.

And I know it’s going to be the same with this. I don’t really think about Harry Potter every single day of every year, but whenever a book/movie is coming out I always fall into the hype. It is especially bad this year since my friend is working at Barnes and Noble and therefore involved in every aspect of the new book. We have been helping him brainstorm for weeks trivia questions to ask at tonight’s party. We have been scheming and plotting and guessing what will happen. And those genius’ at Warner Bros got us even more riled up with Order of the Phoenix coming out just a week and a half ago (which I thought was a teensy better the second time). I’ve been suckered in this whole time, and I don’t care.

I feel like I know these characters. And come Monday (maybe even Sunday, depending on how fast I read it) I won’t have anything new to learn about them. Their story will be over. It will like I will lose all these friends at once. And that will be really hard, I think.

Now you may be thinking, “Come on, Kate, it’s just a book.” But I’m a writer, and I know how you can get attached to your characters. I know for JK Rowling it isn’t about being a book. It was about creating a world and then pretty much saying goodbye to it. I know how hard that is for me, so it must be much, much harder for her.

So tonight I’ll stand in line, get my book, and then go home. (And then work tomorrow at 9…eek!) I’ll try and soak it all in, because it will be the last time I will get to read a new story about Harry, Hermione, Ron, (maybe) Dumbledore, Snape, Remus, Tonks, and everyone else. And I’ll try not to cry.

I’ll try real, real hard.

 

Leave a Reply

