Ferociously Observant

It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not. -Anon.

The Regulars 23 October 2007

Filed under: Ponderings,Travel — ferociouskater @ 5:59 pm

I have a couple of dueling ideas and desires in my life right now. One of them is this idea of settling in versus traveling. For the last couple of weeks I’ve had this awful travel bug and need to go somewhere or I’m afraid I’ll go completely insane. Being on the road, being in a different place, seeing different people than I usually see – these are things I crave. Especially if I were to take a trip to somewhere completely different, and see new sights and meet new people. I’ve always loved to travel and somehow, being stagnant in Saginaw has made this desire more prevalent.

I think people in general these days get the itch to get going every now and again. Some, I know, are more content to stay put, especially if they don’t have the money to travel or have a family that ties them down to where they are. At one point I’m sure I wanted to be one of these people. I’m sure at some point I will want to be one of these people. But right now I want to be moving, constantly exploring, constantly learning. Families these days are scattered around the country and everyone is so mobile, whether it be via technology or physically. I want to be a part of this ever changing, ever more mobile society.

However, there’s this other part of me that wants familiarity. I like seeing familiar faces, knowing how to get around, and knowing where the best places are to eat, shop, and hang out. I like being a regular. In the town I grew up in in Illinois I barely saw anyone I knew when I was out because it was a bigger place. When I moved to Wooster for high school I saw everyone I knew everywhere, and there was quite a bit of comfort in this. Even now, I go back to visit Wooster and I see people I went to high school with, or their families. Even if they don’t recognize me or I don’t remember their names, it makes me feel like a part of something. Now it’s nice, here, to walk into our coffee shop and have the girls know exactly what I want to drink. It’s fun to be a regular.

I don’t know if my settled side and my restless side will every quite come to an agreement. I’m afraid that no matter where I ultimately settle I will constantly be wanting to go somewhere else. Does this same conflict exist in everyone? Or are some people just completely content to either stay put or keep moving?

 

Leave a Reply

