Ferociously Observant

It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not. -Anon.

An Opportunity 8 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — ferociouskater @ 1:20 am

Tonight, I intended to drive to Wooster to see some old friends from high school. In true form, I picked the weekend that the whole of Northeast Ohio is being hit by a massive blizzard. So I made it the four hours to Lakewood, my parents’ place, an stopped. Tomorrow I will attempt to make the trek the rest of the way to Wooster, an hour south, yet this blizzard is supposed to get worse tomorrow, so we’ll see. I may have just suffered through 4 hours of terrifying snow-driving just to sit in my parents’ condo all weekend (which is what I did last week when I was down here expressly to see them). 

Regardless…

I went to dinner by myself tonight (as my socialite parents had previous engagements) and ate some really good Mediterranean food at Aladdin’s Eatery. I did a little journaling while I was there (yes, I was one of those people) so I thought I’d share it.

I am currently diving into a bowl of V-Nine soup. My parents and I have tried, on multiple occasions, to find all nine varieties of vegetables, and have always come up short – but no matter. It is still one of the best soups I have ever tasted. The finely crumbled feta tops it off perfectly, and the accompanying pita bread begs to be dunked.

Next to the window I can see the city being blanketed with snow, and though the ambiance-inducing lights of the restaurant make it a tad hard to see my page, it is occasionally illuminated by the headlights of the passing cars on the street outside. To them, the drivers, this is perhaps an ordinary Cleveland Friday night in early March. They are inching their Hondas and Toyotas home, or to dinner parties, or to the video store, and as they pass I wonder if they ponder just as much about the girl eating alone at the corner cafe, hunched over a notebook? Can they see the vast opportunity that such a night has given me? Impossible. And that’s too bad.  

 

Leave a Reply

