Ferociously Observant

It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not. -Anon.

A Plea from Behind the Registers 19 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — ferociouskater @ 12:54 am

I want to preface my plea by reminding everyone that I have the best job in the world. I get to talk to people about books, recommend my favorite titles, and learn more about new writers and the publishing industry. I get paid for all this. There are very few moments that I am unhappy about my job. My plea to you, the customer, is in relation to these very few moments.

Please, oh loyal retail customer…

Don’t interrupt me when I’m telling you about our membership program. Part of my job is telling you about this program that really does save a lot of people a lot of money, and although it shouldn’t bother me, it actually hurts my feelings a little when you interrupt. I understand you might not shop at our store enough for it to be worth it to you. I understand that there are a lot more things (gas, being one) that you need to spend money on instead. But please, please, please – be polite about it. A simple “No, thank you” will suffice and we can all go on with our lives.

Because I really, really love my job, and I want you all to love being there as much as I do!

Thank You.

 

Leave a Reply

